Ontario Names First 14 Cities to Host Legal Marijuana Shops

As the calendar moves closer to 2018, so does the reality that recreational marijuana usage will more than likely be legalized across Canada by July 1. Now, Ontario has confirmed the first 14 cities in which government-run (LCBO) pot stores will be located.

The list features: Brampton, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Mississauga, Ottawa, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Toronto, Vaughan and Windsor.

To firm up further details, LCBO representatives and staff members from the Ontario Ministry of Finance will meet with the aforementioned municipalities to figure where each store will be placed.

In a press release issued by the Government of Ontario, it’s noted: “Two primary considerations will be used to guide the identification of municipalities.”

  • To achieve geographic distribution of stores across the province.
  • To reduce the number of illegal stores, including dispensaries, currently in operation.

Charles Sousa

“Our proposed approach is to build on the expertise and back-office capabilities of the LCBO to set up the Crown Corporation,” remarked Ontario Finance Minister Charles Sousa in a letter to municipalities. “Our priority is to reduce the illegal market by building on our strengths to create an efficient and secure system for people across the province.”

The public will be kept up to speed regarding proposed addresses of these stores, and will subsequenly have the opportunity to offer feedback directly to the LCBO.

In all, Ontario plans on opening 150 government-operated marijuana stores by 2020.

Click here for more information on Ontario’s proposed marijuana legalization plans.

Recently, “theZoomer” tackled the issue of marijuana legalization in Canada head-on. This episode featured impassioned debate, especially by high profile pot advocate Jodie Emery. You can watch her appearance below.